(2016-09-04) Restarting ddrescue gui after accidental abort... Topic is solved

Locked
hamishmb
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:47 am
Contact:

(2016-09-04) Restarting ddrescue gui after accidental abort...

Post by hamishmb »

Original post from "Chris" (2016-09-04):

Hello Hamish,

I've been trying to use this interface (v. 1.6.1) to clone a damaged 2tb external hard drive that shows up as "raw format" to a newer 5tb one so that I can recover from that one, and I've been very pleased with it! Really, kudos to you for making it.

I'm running the program on the newest version of Ubuntu (16.04), which I installed to my old "guinea pig" desktop and am slowly learning to use after years of using Windows.

Given that the drive is damaged, the whole cloning process is rather slow (I estimate that it should take anywhere from between a couple of weeks to over two months), and I tried twice but a few days in, the source drive would lose its connection to the computer and the process would abort; maybe the hard drive was overheating when going through one of the more damaged parts.

The log file from the 2nd attempt is still on my desktop, but it appeared as a plain text document so I added the .log ending when selecting as the log file, which I think is what the person who posted the question here https://answers.launchpad.net/ddrescue-gui/+question/295956 did. Here is a screenshot of how it looks now.
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2whe8b8&s=9

Should I uncheck the part that says "overwrite output file/disk (Enable if recovering to a disk)" if I don't want what has already been copied to be deleted? Or can I leave it as is? These are probably newbie questions, but I thought it would better to be safe than sorry...

Thank you,
Chris
hamishmb
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: (2016-09-04) Restarting ddrescue gui after accidental abort...

Post by hamishmb »

Reply from "hamishmb" (2016-09-05):

Hi,

Thanks, and I'm glad you like it. You didn't need to change the log file's name, it appears as a text file because essentially that what it is.

Only thing is make sure you don't save the GUI's log file (it prompts you to save this when you close the GUI) over the recovery log, but if you haven't done that you're fine :)

Nah, you should leave it checked, it's fine. The log file allows ddrescue to pick up where it left off, so it won't change any data that was already recovered.

Hope this helps,
Hamish
hamishmb
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: (2016-09-04) Restarting ddrescue gui after accidental abort...

Post by hamishmb »

Reply from "Chris" (2016-09-05):

Thanks for your response! I started it again with your suggestions and it started right from where it had left off last time. I suppose that was supposed to have been a no-brainer but when everything takes so much time (it would have taken two full days to have formatted the destination drive if I had restarted the recovery from scratch) it was worth asking.

The reason why I added .log was because it wouldn't let me select a file if it didn't have that ending; it wasn't a .log file by default and so it wouldn't show up as a selectable option.

Many thanks,
Chris
Locked